Intro For Nicole

Rate this topic

Hi...just a little intro. My name's Nicole, I'm a 30-yr-old artist, working mostly with oil paints and charcoals. I would like to branch out into pastels and scratchboards. We used to make our own scratchboards with crayons in elementary school and it was kinda fun. Anyways, I have been into art since I was in Junior High or before, even, but didn't really get too serious until about ten years ago when I took a couple oil painting classes in a nearby town. Until that point, I only did sketches and had never known how to get involved in the exhibition world at all. After those classes, I exhibited a few pieces and became a member of the Galena Artists' Guild (Galena,IL). This was a great organization that helped me network a little with other artists (some even semi-famous ones from as far away as Chicago!) and get my name out there a little. I was working 3rd shift (nights) as a CNA at the time, so I could fit the organization activities in my schedule. After a couple years, I changed to 2nd shift, as it fit better with my natural sleep pattern and had to give up my beloved Artists' Guild. But I couldn't see spending the membership fee every year to be a member of a club that I couldn't participate in the events!! I got out of Art for awhile-at least my painting and just recently got back into it. I actually have my own studio in my attic, which has always been a lifelong dream!! Actually, I recently started teaching my fiance' to paint because he expressed an interest. I am really proud of his amazingly quick improvement! I found this site cuz I was just typing stuff into my search engine, trying to find helpful info about selling my work or just getting into a type of awesome little forum like this one to meet other artists who might have good ideas, tips, or just wanna hang out on the net and be friends. I also write poetry, sing Karaoke, and I love Sci-Fi/Fantasy Books! If you want to get ahold of me with info or tips, or ya ju