don't know where to start...

Rate this topic

hi... i'm new here... i really need advice...

i am a chemical engineering graduate...i took up this course for 7 freakin' years and didn't make it to get a license....i've been working for almost four years now as a pollution control officer from company to company and reached to this point of taking the next detour.... my real passion was arts...and still is...but my parents and i don't have the same view of my future 11 years ago...i followed what they wanted me to be but always got them disappointed...now, i came to the realization that i can't deny what i really feel and what i really wanted...i am not happy with my work anymore...although i am happy with my friends - my office mates... i want to pursue my dream of being an artist... i am planning to take up a short course in arts or design as a start but I don’t know what to take first or what to prioritize… as I was googling about creative designs, web arts, photoeditings, 3d and etc, I find myself on panic… where the hell should I start?

What I only know are sketching using a normal pencil, editing photos and tarp at excel..yes on ms excel…and imagining…so how can I possibly learn all these new things fast… I can’t be unemployed for so long because I already have a kid, although my husband is working…

I am on my late 20’s and I am really on a panic… L

please do give me some advice on how to proceed with my life (a little exag ehehehe)…

• 2 weeks later...
  • Root Admin

There must be a million people who would like to make a living out of selling their art or photography, for every one who actually makes it. My advice is this...

If you have a good job - keep it! I for one have no sympathy for hungry artists.

Do your art in your spare time. Then you can enjoy it, without having to think about where your money is going to come from.